When Chelito and I moved in together it took me a while to truly appreciate the complexities of his collections of objects (there were just so many of them). One set of things in particular always drew me in. When I met him he had this incredible collection of owls on the shelf above his kitchen sink. Mostly pottery – they were from all parts of the world and different periods of time. There was a set among them that I hadn’t really inspected until a couple weeks after we moved in. Three amazing pieces, I learned, were made by Sylvia Hood. I always thought they were wooden but they were heavy for their size and after a little research I discovered that they were actually solid chalkware.

Image

The three similar ones are a set that Chelito found at a flea market a few years back. The little blue one I recently purchased from a sweet woman on ebay (*treasure-trove*). All are made by Sylvia Hood.

There is not much on the web about Sylvia Hood. Wikipedia lists her only in an article on California Pottery and says she was an artist working in Pasadena, California from 1960-1965. Other than a few objects for sale on ebay and etsy, there’s not much else to go on. Chelito and I will be taking a few trips to museums in Pasadena and southern California that house pottery collections to see if we can learn of anything more. If you know of anything about her, we’d love to hear from you. In the meantime, I hope you enjoy these images of the magical items she has created.

Image

These two ducks are available for purchase on etsy.com
*Sylvia Hood

Image

These two roosters are available for purchase on ebay.
*Sylvia Hood

Image

This idyllic family is available on ebay.
*Sylvia Hood

Image

This piece stunned me when I first saw it in this photo.
*Sylvia Hood

